Day 10, slotting into recovery

I’ve posted my first food pictures over on My Greysheet Meals today.

I think it’s fair to say that things are a lot easier than I thought, at least thus far.  I said in my previous post that I didn’t feel stable and that is mainly due to the fact that there hasn’t been any challenge yet.  It seems too easy and I’m afraid of falling at the first hurdle.  I mentioned to my sponsor that I was still finding it easy and still feeling the relief more than anything – and her response was simply, “Well that’s because you’re working the programme!”

Good point, and food for thought.  Perhaps it doesn’t have to get harder.  If I have settled in my deepest soul that this is what I do, then whatever hassles may arise aren’t actually challenges, are they?  If I work the programme, make outreach calls, and so on: I don’t have to white-knuckle abstinence.

Working the programme for me means to cut myself off from various dietary advice, too.  Staying away from the blogs, the diet sites, the books; saturating my mind with recovery and other people’s experience, strength and hope and letting the food be the food, simple and straightforward: on the Greysheet = OK, not on the Greysheet = do not eat.  Simple as that.  No matter what.

Leave a Reply

