Day 6 – weekend and supermarket shopping

I’m checking in to say I am still abstinent today, the Greysheet magic is back. I am grateful beyond words… I had barely allowed myself to hope. The weekend’s as good as over and I haven’t eaten.

Over the past few months, most weekends were binge times. I could not escape the routine, however well I planned and kept busy. This weekend wasn’t even a struggle really – what a blessing.

I didn’t want to challenge myself with both major issues that had been tripping me up for months, again and again; I thought I’d face the weekend and pray for help, and if I got through that then I could tackle the other major problem: supermarket shopping.

In the past (non-abstinent) months, I would be on a well-planned diet and things were going great until I went shopping. Somehow I was unable to leave the supermarket without a “treat” – and once I had that “treat” in my shopping basket, it really didn’t matter any more and I bought all the binge foods I wanted. I’m not a one-bite, one-treat kind of person. If I’m going to have it, I’m going to have all of it and more.

Well, it didn’t work out that way this weekend, I hadn’t planned well enough. I have to relearn living abstinently, and so I ran out of raw vegetables. Meaning that I had to go shopping for veg. And I did… bought nothing but abstinent stuff… left the supermarket… and that was that. Thank you, God, for blessing me with the GS magic again. I won’t take it for granted.

Leave a Reply

