One week off sweeteners & caffeine

I’m a compulsive overeater who’s abstinent today as I weigh my 3 meals off the CGS, write them down, commit them to my sponsor, and eat nothing uncommitted no matter what. I make that my #1 priority.

Abstinence is what I described above, sweeteners don’t come into it (I just wanted to say that because I’m no “more” abstinent than anyone else just because I’m cutting out sweeteners).

But I wanted to share my excitement, my gratefulness, or more to the point – my humble amazement at this power greater than myself who enabled me to let go of sweeteners and caffeine one week ago, something that seemed absolutely unthinkable even on the day I started. I could not imagine living without these things. I could not imagine that my abstinence would be “contented”. What have I found? Amazingly, my abstinence now feels much more serene and contented!

There’s now no one food I MUST have. I’m happy with anything on the Greysheet. I have my preferences, of course, but there’s nothing non-negotiable that I MUST have, like it used to be with having a sweet breakfast. The thought of a non-sweet breakfast was impossible. Now I have learned it’s actually just fine.

Wow! Another step in this glorious freedom path. NMW!

Leave a Reply

