Kneeling to pray

Kneeling is a subject that’s been on my mind for a long time. It’s a profound thing. God doesn’t need me to be on my knees to speak to me, but I do think that I listen better when I’m there. It is a single-purpose position. I mean, I can pray while sitting but I do lots of other things sitting. Or standing, or lying down. But the only reason I kneel is because I’m connecting with God. That alone, that exclusivity, probably has a big part to play in why kneeling is profound.

And I don’t do it often. I don’t do it as a “default”. My Catholic baggage rejects the idea of ritual, and I don’t want prayer and anything connected with it to be mere ritual. When I pray, I want to open up to God and if I’m drawn to doing it, I will kneel. Other times, I’ll stand. Or lift my hands. Or move. I want to be natural before my dad, in what I say as well as in how I behave.

Possibly, another reason why kneeling is a good prayer posture for me is that it’s a physical reminder that I can’t run away, it’s a choice that I’m getting into a position where I can’t run. Not sure if that makes any sense to you, but if I kneel down, I feel grounded much more than when I sit or stand.

Leave a Reply

