Goals for 2008

I always used to make New Year’s resolutions, and I do think there is something healthy about looking into the year ahead with some definitive goals to work toward.  It helps me to assess the past year, where I’ve come from, and where I want to get to.  In the past, these resolutions used to be very much about weight – lose weight, exercise more, etc. etc. – which was discouraging as I binged my way to New Year’s (since I was never going to do it again!) and then had my next binge on Jan 2nd.

Now, however, my goals look different.  They are more defined than “lose weight”, and they are things I definitely want to do… things I want to be able to check off the list at the end of 2008.

Currently, the list goes like this.  In 2008, I plan to:

  • exercise consistently (not too little, not too much!)
  • finish my postgrad marketing diploma (exams in June)
  • put £100/month away
  • work through the Steps in my AWOL (never gone beyond 3rd Step)
  • write to the Greynet at least weekly
  • spend time with God every morning
  • visit my family once

These are a few things I am thinking of, off the top of my head.  I keep thinking there are more, and I haven’t yet taken the time to really write down a definitive list.  I’d love to hear what others are doing with the new year.

I heard once about a Greysheeter who simply took a word, “Trust”, as her theme word for the year.  She would meditate on that word every day, keep it in the forefront of her mind, and at the end of the year she really felt she had grown in that area.  I might do something like that, too.

Leave a Reply

