I am grateful

The other day in a private email I made the comment that “thankfully, we don’t do Thanksgiving in this country” – which made my sponsor quite concerned about my gratefulness.  I was really joking, but I do take the point and it’s true that giving thanks, being grateful, is the key ingredient for me to remain abstinent.  Because, as I said to my sponsee the other day, if I don’t get anything worth having, why do I choose abstinence?

Well the truth is, I gain a LOT of things that are worth having.  Abstinence is the bedrock on which I can build a full, enjoyable and useful life.  Let’s see if I can summarize my list to 10 major points:

  1. Mental freedom from obsession
  2. I know what enough food is
  3. If I get hungry, I know there’s another (great!) meal coming soon
  4. I love the food I eat
  5. My sponsor, who guides me
  6. My job, which I can concentrate upon because I’m not thinking about food
  7. My postgrad course, which I can concentrate upon because I’m not thinking about food
  8. My church family, people who love me
  9. My healthy body
  10. That I can focus OUTward and gain the beautiful ability to help someone else

So yes, I am grateful.  Beyond words, really.

Leave a Reply

