In tune with our bodies

Interesting topic, on the physical ramifications of stress.  I thought about it for a while.  Personally, I don’t tend to be tense – my shoulders, neck, jaw etc. all never seem to change.  I don’t clench up when I’m tense, in fact, I don’t really get tense.

In the face of stress and fear, I’m more like a deer in the headlights, I get limp.  Case in point: my mother was a music teacher, and I played various instruments because of that (never my own thing).  I have the natural talent, but I don’t enjoy it, which is why I no longer play anything.  But anyway, because I’m talented with it, my mother had me play in various contests and concerts, and I must have been about 12 or 13 about to go on stage when a friend remarked how incredibly calm I was in the face of going on stage to play in front of hundreds (I had just yawned, lol).  In fact I was frozen with stage fright and fear, about as stressed as you can get – but my natural response is limpness.  I’m not a fighter, never have been.  If I’m in a really scary, stressful situation, that’s when I am the calmest… or most apathetic, depending on how you look at it.

So, rather than tensing up, my muscles go limp.  I suppose, hearing some stories of people’s back/shoulder/neck pains, that’s a good thing!

And as for anger… again, I’m not a hot tempered person.  I may resent, but I never blow up or get really angry.  Instead I just get away from the situation.  I cannot relate to the reading that was talking about anger being like a hungry dog in the basement, about overreacting totally out of proportion to something.  I suppose in my family it has never been OK to be angry or loud, so it’s just not something that even occurs to me as a possible course of action.

Leave a Reply

