Gloriously free

I just want to express my gratitude for this awesome freedom I have today. It’s astounding. I’m free from the obsession of food, but that’s only the beginning! As I have grown in abstinence, freedom in other areas has been revealed… let’s see if I can make a list.

Today, I have and am growing in freedom:

  • to enjoy my food, to look forward to it, to make it SEXY
  • to take good care of my body (neither endulging nor punishing it)
  • to set boundaries
  • to keep boundaries
  • to be there for others
  • to provide for my own needs first: emotional, physical, and spiritual
  • to have preferences
  • to act on my preferences
  • to be selfless
  • to be selfish
  • to be able to disappoint people

–> to be ME

  • without apologies
  • without guilt
  • without fear

I’m not there yet, but I’m getting there. Abstinence teaches me important lessons, and the clarity abstinence brings gives me a glimpse into what makes me, ME. I used to stuff it down, now I’m coming to know myself and who I actually am, who God made me to be.

Abstinence: the gift that keeps on giving! 🙂

Leave a Reply

