I am thankful

I’m so thankful for all the things GS enables me to do and to have. The wonderful relationship with my wise sponsor. The growing relationship with my sponsee. Both these relationships bring me so much joy, in different ways. And they keep things real.

I’m so thankful I have a life now that sometimes get so busy I feel like a headless chicken running around. But I never forget to eat.

I’m so, so thankful that I don’t think about food the way I used to. I love food but now I’m not destroying myself with it. In fact I’m allowed to love my food, I can feel good about loving my food, I can enjoy and appreciate it and there is NO reason to feel bad about that! My food rocks!

I’m thankful that by being on Greysheet, I am open to relationships in my life: I’m not lying to anyone, I’m not hiding, I’m transparent and out in the open – which I have learned is a prerequisite for having real relationships. Guess what, I never knew that before. Masks are coming off, slowly, in my relationships, because the one thing I was always hiding (the food) is gone and all the things that hid underneath it are coming out, and they’re all NOT AS BAD as I thought!

Believe it or not, I think I’m beginning to feel I have value… I may, after all, be lovable… I may, after all, not be repulsive… when that boulder of the food moved away and the sun shone on what was under it, I found that there was stuff, but there weren’t any more big boulders like the food! Revelation!

I struggle to find time to write to Greynet these days. I know I need to be more diligent about that. But that struggle only illustrates all the things I am thankful for… my life’s filled with things OTHER than food!

Leave a Reply

