A full day, a full life

Yesterday was interesting – interesting because it opened my eyes to how different I am now, almost a year into abstinence. A year ago, I would have termed yesterday as a disaster day. Today, I see lots of good things in it. Here’s what happened.

First of all, in the morning, I spilled coffee all over my clothes, at work. Fine – I don’t have to be dressed nicely at work, I can look “frumpy” on occasion, since I don’t work with clients. So I changed into my workout clothes that I had with me. THEN, I get a call from the place I interviewed with last week – could I please come by today after work? I said no, and explained the situation. They said I should come anyway, it was only to meet with the other salesman (for him to see whether he could work with me). I wasn’t comfortable. I didn’t want to go in my workout clothes. To make matters worse, after that phone call, my cell phone died and would not charge. Bad situation: all my numbers are on that phone, any potential jobs have that number, and I’ve given this number as a Greysheet contact number. It just HAS TO work.

Then, I asked for help. (Would I have done this a year ago? Probably not.) The charity I work for collects donations to sell in their shops, and the warehouse is here on site. I asked the volunteers if there were any clothes I could possibly borrow. They looked, and an hour later came back to me with two outfits, both of which fit (! I’m no longer fat !) and one of which was absolutely perfect. Like tailor made.

Before going to the interview, I called the shop where I had bought my phone and told them about my problem. They told me to come in, and I did (without a receipt or the box). They checked it, tried it with a new battery and a new charger, and that worked. I would have been prepared to pay, but they actually just gave them both to me! Another question of asking for help. A year ago, I probably would have bought a new handset and fumed about the old one, maybe not even bothering to send it to the manufacturer for repair.

When I got home after the interview, it was time to leave for music practice. I hadn’t eaten. I needed to eat, and so couldn’t go to the practice. My housemate, who depends on me for a ride, was VERY irritated – had to call someone to come and pick her up, which meant they all had only about half of the music practice time left when they got there. Sorry… I had to eat. (this was 6:30pm and I wouldn’t have been home before 10pm)

My housemate is still upset. I’m still sorry for inconveniencing her. I would have called, but my phone didn’t work. I put my food first (not even a question), and of course she doesn’t understand. I wouldn’t expect her to. I have expressed that I’m sorry, and that’s all I can do. Thank Greysheet for teaching me not only to SET boundaries, but also to enforce them GRACIOUSLY. I don’t have to demand, I don’t have to be in-your-face militant. I can respectfully do what I need to do.

Thank you all for doing what I do, no matter what.

Leave a Reply

