Fasting

I have a question for anyone who’s Christian or Jewish.

I know we don’t fast; I have no intention to. I honor the God of my understanding through the way I eat – fasting removes me from my HP, rather than bring me closer. So it’s not a question for me. But I wonder, is there any way to explain my position from Scripture when I explain to my pastor why I’m not going to fast?

I know there’s a verse somewhere that speaks about pregnant or nursing women as well as sick people being excluded from fasting. Can someone point me to it? I just want to be able to back up my position with authoritative Scripture – saying, in effect, that I have a deadly disease that the God of my understanding would not want me to trigger.

Leave a Reply

