Job situation change

My job situation is going to change. I was just asked into the principal’s office to learn that the board is asking me to sign a change to my contract to extend my “probation period” by 3 months so that the new board, which will be elected next week, has some time to evaluate whether my position is necessary or not.

I started about a year ago and it’s an incredibly tough job – everything I do gets opposed, and I keep running into walls. I don’t even have a budget!! They’re Germans, they have no idea about fundraising, and I’m caught between a rock and a hard place as I have nothing to work with and yet keep being asked why I haven’t raised a million yet.

Honestly, I’m happy that action has been taken. I would not mind getting out of this job at all… the only problem, which is a HUGE problem, is that my visa to be in this country depends on my job. It’s transferable, but even transferring it will cost the new company money, and so I’m going to have a very, very hard time finding a new job. Another problem with transferring the visa is that I would have to do almost exactly what I’m doing now, because otherwise I’d need a new visa.

I do NOT want to leave this country. I’d be happy to move anywhere within it, but without relationship to a potential employer it’s extremely hard to convince anyone to put up money up front, which they would have to do to sponsor my visa. I understand their point. But it’s a hard situation for me.

There’s still time, three months from October. But since I have no savings, I don’t know what to do… if I do get fired, I cannot work legally, so I can’t take a “bridge” job until I find something better.

I guess I shouldn’t think about it yet.

What I WANT is to go to New York to live. My old church is there, and Greysheet is there. That’s what I *want*. But is it realistic? … *sigh* no.

Not eating, but pondering opportunities and problems today.

Leave a Reply

