Needs and wants

I’m getting quite busy at work these days, which is good – I haven’t been doing a good job in the past (as a matter of fact, I pretty much haven’t been doing anything at all recently), and now I have an intern who works with me, and because I need to give her work to do, I find myself working as well. Which helps the days go by! And it leaves me just enough time to keep reading the Greynet, while not enough time to get so bored that I buy stuff off the Internet all the time. I’ve been spending way too much money on “wants”.

I know I don’t need any more “stuff”. Yes, it’d be nice to have a bed (right now I only have a mattress), but I’m not prepared to pay hundreds of dollars for one. If I find one at a thrift store or on craigslist for $20 or under, I’ll consider it, and get it only if I like it. I don’t have to have one. There’s lots of other stuff I’ve been thinking about but when I really think about it, I don’t actually have any pressing NEEDS right now.

I think that’s a scary concept to me. My mind keeps wanting to WANT
something.

But just for today, my wallet will stay put. (Except that I *need* kitty litter, but that I will allow myself). I can’t use shopping as a crutch to get away from eating, I ain’t that rich.

Leave a Reply

