Creation experience & helping others

I’m back from an absolutely awesome camping experience. The heat was intense, but apart from that it was really great. I was able to have my GS meals, actually was better off with those than the others (IMHO), and because I was abstinent I was able to fully experience it all.

One morning as I was having my breakfast, one of my friends took a food item of mine and began to comment on it. I just said, guys, I’m not discussing my food. Then the conversation went in another direction and it was fine. 🙂

That same day, I had opportunity to talk one-on-one with one of the teens from my church, who’s been diagnosed with anorexia/bulimia earlier this year (as her mother told me), and because I opened up about my own struggles she opened up to me as well. It’s an awesome thing to be able to help others. She said she’s not quite ready to get “out of the closet” about her eating yet, even though her mother had told just about everyone about her problem. I gave her a short explanation of what I do on GS and that she’s welcome to come to me anytime about it, when/if she’s ready, and left it at that.

And now that I’m back, I’m ready to sponsor somebody! I’m both apprehensive and very much looking forward to this, to helping somebody else along the way.

Leave a Reply

