Day 82: Waking up early

This is my last share before the weekend, as always… this weekend is special, though, I’m so looking forward to seeing Greysheeters in person. Even if it’s at 7:15 in the morning on a Sunday. (That is the meeting I’ll go to if I can’t make it to another one – and I can’t tell yet)

Anyway, I’m still a compulsive overeater and I weigh my 3 meals off the CGS and commit them to my sponsor. I don’t eat anything I haven’t committed, no matter what – that’s my #1 priority for today.

I have all my meals packed this time. No weighing. I don’t like to weigh in front of people, so I avoid it whenever possible. I’ll do it when I can’t avoid it, though. But this weekend it’s only two days and I have simply packed my meals in tupperware and am hauling them up there.

Something awesome happened this morning and I really need to share this with you. I woke up before the alarm!! Now if that doesn’t sound earth-shattering to you, let me explain. I’ve been struggling with getting up all my life, and getting abstinent didn’t make a real difference in that. Getting up was miserable. And I always wanted to use my mornings for prayer and meditation, but somehow, it’s so easy to put God on hold for just another five minutes… five more… it got to the point that I had my alarm set for 5:15 and wouldn’t be out of bed until 6:00 which means I had to run off to the shower immediately. No praying. Off into the day.

Yesterday I was reading about how important it is to start your day off on a foundation, that you build your day on the quiet time of the morning. The morning is the only quiet time I HAVE to meet with God. So, for the 1000th time, I made a firm resolution to wake up at the time my alarm went off and not snooze it, but actually get up and pray. So this morning, for what must have been the first time ever in my life, I was actually up! One minute before the alarm was set!! That in itself was such a miracle that I basically jumped right out of my bed. And it makes such a difference in my day now, I’m so thankful I had this time, and I can only pray (finally got it now: I can’t do this in my own strength!) for the ability to do the same thing tomorrow morning.

Because it’s a day at a time.

Leave a Reply

