New – and very humble

Hello, my name is Susanne and I’m a compulsive overeater, and I need help. I do not measure and weigh my food three times a day, because I’m really really new to all this and have yet to find a sponsor.

I’m 23 years old, working in Manhattan. Food has always been a struggle for me, and even when I wasn’t very overweight and more or less controlled my eating, bingeing was never far off the horizon. Right now, through the past year or so my eating has truly spiralled out of control (and obviously, so have my health and my weight).

Like probably most other people, I’ve been through several diet plans… Atkins, Weight Watchers, Veganism, you name it I tried it. I’m so fed up with it, and truly desperate at this point – which, I think, is probably a good thing for GS because I’ll take any and all advice I get and follow it religiously, because I see you long-timers experiencing true freedom. I want, I need that too. And I’m prepared to do whatever it takes!

The ironic thing, that’s been knocking at my subconscious all the time, is that almost 4 years ago I successfully quit smoking. Why can I do that, which is SO difficult, but can’t even discipline myself with simple food? Well, the truth is, I can’t, and rather than asking why I can’t I know now that I just need to act. And I’ll use the tools you guys are giving me. I’ve been reading the website, and I’m excited to start this journey!

Thanks, and I look forward to getting to know you all better,
Susanne

Leave a Reply

